Author: sngpadmin

Tikapur Municipality

Situated in the Kailali district of Sudurpaschim Province, Tikapur Municipality was established in 1997 AD. As per the decision of the Council of Ministers on March 10, 2013, the former Tikapur Municipality, Narayanpur and Dhansinghpur VDCs have been relocated. The present Greater Tikapur Municipality has been established by merging in one place. Karnali river flows on the East of the municipality while India lies on the South. Most people in the municipality are engaged in Agriculture and few are employed in Trade and Service.

Tansen Municipality

Tansen Municipality is also the district headquarters of Palpa in the northwestern hill of Lumbini Province. The municipality was established in 1950 AD, and it is considered the third oldest municipality in the country. It is famous for its natural beauty along with many historical monuments and diverse cultural heritage. Butwal, the sub-metropolitan city of Rupandehi district is close to the Tansen Municipality within a driving distance of 41km.

Mithila Municipality

Mithila is a municipality in Danusha District of south-eastern Terai area in Nepal. After the government announcement, the municipality was established on 2 December 2014 by merging the existing Begadawar, Nakatajhijh and Dhalkebar village development committees (VDCs).

Damak Municipality

Established in 1990, Damak municipality lies in the Jhapa district in the south-eastern Terai of Province 1. It is the second-largest city (area 75.85 km.sq.) of the district after Birtamode. This municipality touches Morang district in the West and Ilam District in the North. Mahendra Highway (the longest highway in Nepal) crosses this municipality.

Birendranagar Municiplaity

Birendranagar Municipality is in the Surkhet District of Karnali province. It was named in honor of the late King Birendra who had established the municipality in 1976 AD. Historically, Birendranagar and the surrounding area of Surkhet used to be the land of Tharu, Magar, and Local Rajhi. However, the region has seen increased migration from the surrounding mountain regions as well as other parts of the country.

Bhimeshwor Municipality

Bhimeshwor Municipality is situated at Dolakha district of Bagamati Province, Nepal. The municipality has been named after the ancient and sacred destination Dolakha Bhimeshwor Temple. The municipality was declared by Nepal Government on 27th of Falgun, 2073 B.S. combining 3 different previous VDCs (Suspa Chhemawati, Boch, Lakuridanda) and 1 Municipality (Bhimeshwor Municipality); The region is bordered by the Sun Kosi River on the west and the Khimti Khola River on the east. It is divided unequally by the River Tama Koshi, proportionately two thirds to the west of the river and one third to the east. To the northeast lies the impressive Rolwaling Valley to the western edge of which are such peaks as Gauri Shanker and Melungtse.

Waling Municipality

Situated in the Aadhikhola Valley, Waling Municipality is at the heart of Syangja district. Waling Municipality was established in 1997 AD by merging three village development committees (VDCs) –Waling, Dhanubase, and Pekhubaaghkhor. The municipality is located in the western hilly region and covers an area of 124 and is at a distance of 65kms from Pokhara. It has been listed as one of the Smart Cities in Nepal. The mission of the municipality is to promote the development of agriculture, tourism, business, industries, energy, IT, and infrastructure to support this vision.


Subnational governments policies, programs, and service delivery are inclusive, equitable, and respond to the needs of women and marginalized constituencies.

End of content

End of content